7 Human Emotions: Plus or Minus a Few

Have you ever thought about what emotions really are?

What they're for; their purpose?

Well, here's our definition in a nutshell: Emotions are bodily sensations that you feel, most often through the mid-line of your body, from below your navel to above your throat.

They are responses from your feelings.

Emotions are how the subconscious lets you know what is important to you. There are primarily 7 human emotions:

  1. Fear
  2. Lust
  3. Anger
  4. Pride
  5. Courage
  6. Acceptance
  7. Peace

Then there are many other emotions that fall into these categories. For this exercise, let's tune into your feelings, whatever they may be today. You see, what's "under" excitement, rage, boredom, grief, confusion, sadness, or frustration--to name just a few--is an attempt from your other-than-conscious being to send you a message. The message is, "This is important to me." So, we invite you play with this simple four-step process:

  1. Stop everything you're doing. Close your eyes. Take a few deep breaths...good.
  2. Ask yourself, "What am I feeling right now?" Sense the midline of your body, from the inside out. Sense what you feel *within* your body.
  3. Ask yourself, "What names do I call these emotions?" Take your time. Use your own words; the ones that feel accurate to you. You may feel many different emotions, in varying degrees of intensity, at the same time.
  4. Ask yourself, "What is the emotion of <include name of one emotion> telling me is important to me?" Then one at a time, repeat this question and connect each emotion with a value (values are simply what is important to you).

As you work with these questions, you'll be on your way to understanding your core values, your true nature. The 7 human emotions give you a starting place to begin to identify your emotional responses to your feelings and what value they wish to point you to.

By Kirk